top of page
Writer's picture Fatin Athirah

TRIP TO PENANG

For Project 2, we have to produce a conceptual art/ model. The subject matter was derived from the dying culture from the site visit in Penang.


The 1st Day


So on the 19th September 2019, at 12.00 pm we departed from Taylor's University and arrived at Penang around 5.00 pm. After checking in The Container Hotel, we walk around to Sekeping Victoria which is about 2 min walking distance. The cafe has a rustic design from the interior and also the exterior of the old building.


Sekeping Victoria


From there, we walked around to the Little India Street. At the street, there were a lot of stores selling local Indian goods, foods and clothes such as sarees. We could see a lot of Indian cultures at that street hence the name of it. We also went to the famous street art. From there I started to look out for dying culture that I can choose for my subject matter.


The 2nd Day


After breakfast at 9.30 am we gathered around at the St. George's Church for the Penang Heritage Trail tour guided by licensed tour guide, Mr David. He told us a lot about the Penang heritage and history of it. We walked around from the St. George's Church until Chew Jetty. He even shared to us about the history of architectural of the houses in Penang and how it revolve through the years. We stopped by at temple, church, food stall, mosque and the street art as well. So the tour ended at the Chew Jetty where they sell local goods.




Around 3.00 pm after lunch, me and my friends went to the Cheong Fatt Tze- The Blue Mansion guided tour. The guide told us about the history of the mansion since it been built since the 19th century. This mansion was also used to film the movie Crazy Rich Asian. In that mansion, I found that they were displaying the old mahjong and abacus inside the cabinet. So I it as an options for my subject matter.



After that, we went to Armenian Street to look around for the subject matter. We also went one of the street art as well. From one of the stores at that street I found they were hanging these wind chimes in the stores so I decided to choose it as on of the subject matter for this project.


About 5.00 pm we gathered at the hotel lounge with the lectures to discuss about the subject matter that that we choose.


The Last Day.


We went out for breakfast and walked around the hotel area for the last time before going back to KL. We packed our stuff and depart from Georgetown, Penang at 12.00 pm and arrived at Taylor's around 5.30 pm.

Group Picture

From this trip, I've seen a lot of things and walked around a lot since it is my first time in Penang. At first when we arrived, I wasn't sure about what to look for the subject matter, but as I walk around and explore the area and street more I could get the hang of it and understand about what to look for. This trip has been quite an amazing experience for me.


4 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page